Santosh Trophy


The brainchild of Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, which is now in Bangladesh; the Santosh trophy was first held in 1941. It was the country’s most popular tournament before the national league began in 1996. It is contested between states and government institutes of the country. Bengal leads the past winners list with 29 Santosh trophy titles. Goa lifted the title this year, after they defeated Bengal in a thrilling final which went ended up in a penalty shoot-out.

The event takes place during May-June after the i-league ends. In the present format, there is a qualifying round involving eight groups of three or four teams each. The eight group winners are then drawn along with four seeded teams, who do not have to come through qualifying, and these twelve teams are then divided into four groups of three each. This is the quarterfinal league stage, in which each of the three teams in the group plays each other. The winners of each group then moves into the semifinals. The semifinals and the final are single-legged fixtures.

- Mayur Desai

  • Buzz on Twitter
  • Facebook

Euro 2012 Champions - Spain
Euro 2012 - Final
Euro 2012 Fans Gallery
Champions League Final - 2012
EPL Week 39 Roundup
Europa League Final - 2012